top of page
Writer's pictureJess

Conscious Travel Episodes - Poland: Euroweek And The importance Of A Cross Cultural Approach

On the streets of Amsterdam, you need to cycle as fast as you can. Occasionally you got to stop the wind blowing in your hair because of some red traffic light. As I stop by the Rijksmuseum, I can't avoid to notice one sign: Book now your dream vacation to Aruba.

It makes me smile. Of course, Aruba is a dream destination to almost everyone. But that kind of travel didn't attract me so much by then. Too many resorts, paid vacation packages, spa days. No signs of the true cultural experience of the place.


No, don't get me wrong. Everybody wants this kind of vacation.


The truth is that, for me, there's now so much more in travel than just crossing a place off on a bucket list. 1000 places to see before I die? I can proudly say I've checked off quite a few so far. But since some years I've come to a phase of my life where I prefer to travel with a purpose. That kind of slow travel, when you can actually get yourself immersed into the culture of a place. That kind of travel without any luxury that would be included in the perfect holiday package, but that will bring you a sense of happiness that you can't buy. Yes, that kind of travel is the story of how I ended up in Poland two summers ago.


euroweek kids activity poland

When I mention the term Conscious Travel most people look back at me with a questioning look. Not surprisingly, the term can encompass many aspects that we often don't even think about before. From what you put in your backpack to small daily actions during your trip that will directly influence the economy of a place. Poland was the first place in Europe where I experienced this style of travel.

I had visited the country at least five times because my sister lives there since three years. This time I went to her city and from there I boarded two trains to the south of the country, almost on the border with the Czech Republic. Anyone who has traveled in Poland and does not understand Polish at all will know what I am talking about: what a puzzle it is to understand those papers that are sticked to the train stations' walls that are supposed to tell you what time your train leaves and on which platform. I simply trust my intuition that I understood the instructions correctly and finally come to what appears to be the middle of nowhere in southern Poland.


train station south poland

Długopole-Zdrój. Don't worry, I don't know how to pronounce it either even though I stayed there for 2 weeks. The village is surrounded by beautiful landscapes, and as it is summer this landscape is painted in various greenish tones. In those two weeks, I would stay at the house of the volunteers, living with people from several different countries: Colombia, India, Uruguay, Indonesia, Thailand. To my surprise, no Brazilians! Hard to believe, since Brazilians are almost citizens of the world, we are often scattered everywhere.

That day I went to bed early because the next day I would start volunteering with the children and I had no idea what to expect, since the routine would be to be with them almost from 9 to 9. But in what exactly I was I putting myself into? A summer camp also known as Euroweek.

kids playing euroweek poland

Euroweek is an educational program that aims to develop the English language and leadership skills of Polish students through informal education and with cross-cultural approach. We create and organize activities and workshop on the key areas of multiple intelligence that the students needed in the past-changing environment of the world today: sociability, communication, intellectuality and creative skills.

I must say I was particularly interested in the cross-cultural approach of the program. For the last few years, I've been seeing and experiencing the rising wave of hostility and intolerance against immigrants not only in Poland, but through all Europe. But we cannot deny that Poland is still one of the most xenophobic countries in the continent and that this is something that needs to be changed. And one way to achieve this change is by teaching people from an early age the importance of accepting the other, regardless of skin color, religion, or nationality.

volunteers euroweek passport nationalities

But how does this happen at Euroweek? The program counts with international volunteers who can help the students broaden their perspective on cultural differences and harness their skills for international collaboration. To make this happen, volunteers provide them with information about their history, economy, tourism, culture, people, and traditions in the most interactive and personal ways that students can remember and understand it easily.

My goal in Euroweek was then, to achieve multicultural open-mindedness with the children while I showed them more about myself, my country and my culture. I gave presentations, workshops, showed more about Brazilian music and dance, talked about Brazilian food, about football and even risked teaching a little Portuguese.

What I got back were several kids interested in learning more and more about my country, excited to be learning more about the world beyond of what they learn at school. Excited for gaining a little of the knowledge of realities that often seem so far away and so distinct.

Yes, my goal was to achieve multicultural open-mindedness and if I made at least 1 of the 100 children I worked with, to respect and fall in love with another culture, I believe I've already achieved that goal. This way the 9 to 9 routine wasn't so heavy, the days when I had to eat pierogi (sorry Polish people, but it's definitely not my favorite food) could be taken with a sense of humor and even activities that required a little more of my creativity or were somewhat challenging brought me positive results in my personal growth.

boy presentation euroweek poland

I worked with three different groups from different schools and different age groups in the two weeks I was there. And I must say, my favorite part might not be their favorite part. But always, on the last day of our activities, we tried to create a very special day, full of challenges and late-night honors. And in all of these groups the children shed so many tears when we told them how unique the time we spent together during the activities was and how important it was for us to see that they saw it that way too. For many of these children, the days at Euroweek change their lives and the way they see others and the world. And this change and knowledge is a very precious asset that no one can take from them.

activity euroweek workshop poland

This is undoubtedly one of my favorite parts about working with children. They are not afraid to express gratitude for the teaching and time you share with them. Children are not ashamed or afraid to show love, even if they only met you a few hours or a few days ago. They also have so much to teach us about things we forget when 'life happens' and become adults.

It is amazing the places that life can bring you, and very often you end up receiving so many unexpected surprises. Poland was my favorite holiday of the whole 2018. And one year before that I had no idea I would even go there for this kind of conscious travel experience. One month before I left I wasn't even sure if I had made a good decision about all of this. But I took my backpack and went anyways.


Just imagine: how many people never find out new things just because they are content with what they already have? I know you are not one of those. So what are you waiting for? Go.


group volunteers students euroweek poland

Share this post with your friends if you found it useful!


* A big thanks to the We Love Euroweek Team, the special group of volunteers I've met when I've been there and all the teachers and students I've worked with. It certainly was a time that I will always remember.


* Here is the link if you want to know more about the Euroweek and their volunteer opportunities. Maybe one day we can help create a world without Nation-states.

56 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page