top of page
Writer's pictureJess

Conscious Travel Episodes - Ghana: A Piece On Genesis At West Africa's Golden Child

Updated: Sep 4, 2019


marktplace crowd people ghana africa

Today, I take you guys to another continent, to the country that is considered West Africa’s Golden Child. Recently, Ghana art scene rises from streets to international galleries even though public funding for the arts in Ghana today is practically non-existent.

To inform you more about this and bring more awareness to what’s been changing recently at the country’s art scene, I bring to you a story told by a really good friend.


Nii Ankrah Richter is a young Translator who currently lives in Kumasi - Ghana and works at the Kumasi branch of the Ghana Institute of Languages teaching German. He is the team leader for the Kumasi Arts Community and the current co-organiser of "Tea & Talk". He believes travelling is essential to the human race because it reveals how much of the world you do not know and those experiences are humbling. He also believes in good food. He eats like a truck driver. Other hobbies include swimming and dancing. And he is ready to share a bit of his first arts exhibition with you.



The Global Paths: How is life in Ghana?


N. Richter: Life in Ghana is basically life everywhere. The people here are generally nice, peaceful, friendly and this is not an exaggeration nor a cliché. However, as with every place that has a good thing, there will always be a sprinkle of bad people.



The Global Paths: Why do you think the main art scene is still only concentrated in Accra?


N. Richter: Honestly, I don't know. I think it's because Accra is more easily accessible to foreigners. It's the capital of Ghana therefore, the most cosmopolitan. Currently, the international airport is located there, most famous people live there, the biggest hotels, the biggest parties. The seat of the Government.



The Global Paths: Why did you decide to take the first step?


N. Richter: We had meetings with the artists discussing the challenges the arts scene faced here in Kumasi and the way forward. We realised based on these sessions, that there was a lack of education on and appreciation for the arts here. Of course, there are a few who do understand the value of arts but the majority don't and really have not been taught to care. There is no funding for arts here that I know of. Everyone wants their children to be a doctor or a lawyer because art doesn't pay. And the circumstances here have proven this premise right. Which is why we decided to do something about it. Funny thing is I'm just an arts enthusiast. I am a translator and teacher by profession.

But rather than complain, I decided to be the change I wanted to see.



The Global Paths: What were the actual benefits that came up out of this?


N. Richter: The arts exhibition opened our eyes to the immense wealth of artists that existed here. Some of the artists who exhibited at the event got clients right away. Some clients even wanted to buy the artworks right off the wall. Hahaha. I realised then, that we needed this to stay. We had a lot more work to do to support these artists.



The Global Paths: Guess it is time for you to share your story with us.




Forgotten house keys, stomachal issues, fatigue, lack of sleep. These are not typically words you use to start a piece on an arts exhibition anywhere in the world, right? But this is however, how my story starts: Genesis - A Kaleidoscopic chaos of art


art exhibition ghana africa colors

That was the theme for this art exhibition which took place on Saturday, April 6, 2019 in Kumasi, Ghana’s second capital city. I could say it was quite of a sunny day for start of the rainy season. The city of Kumasi is home to immense culture and history. The Asantehene, His Highness, Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, one of the wealthiest Kings in Africa and the ruler of the Ashanti Kingdom resides here. The theme was chosen with this city and its myriad of historical heritage in mind. We wanted to nurture the arts scene here. We wanted there to be a renaissance of art in a country where despite its abundance of history, still tackled it from a narrow lens of one city – Accra, Ghana’s capital.


art exhibition ghana africa

As a curator, I knew my task would not be easy. Believe me when I tell you my team and I at the Kumasi Arts Community (KAC) had to sacrifice a lot to make this happen. And yes, on the day of the event, the devil was busy. I went down with stomachal issues, I left my apartment keys at a friend’s and I couldn’t go back to get it because it wasn’t safe so I had to wait till daybreak. I basically locked myself out for four hours and I couldn’t even sleep.


alliance franaise art exhibition ghana africa

Then, at daybreak, I had to be at the venue (Alliance Française, Kumasi) to supervise the art installations and make certain everything could go as planned. And eventually, they did! Thank God for an amazing team at Hapaspace Kumasi and Alliance Française Kumasi.


people museum art exhibition africa

The event itself was a success. It was open to all forms of art. Many arts enthusiasts turned up and the artists were amazing. From skewered-mirrors by handcrafts genius David Boateng and stunning animations by animator extraordinaire Jephter Oduro to brilliant painting/sketching, photography and kizomba dance demonstrations by teen prodigy Emmanuel Kankam, Selorm Sosu and Efua and Osei of Dance Xtacy- Kumasi respectively, the artists were such breath of fresh air. The food was amazing, as usual. I made sure of it. And there was palm wine (Thanks Albert).


people gathering food africa

speech africa exhibition ghana

In the end, my team at Hapaspace and Alliance Française were fantastic! I say congratulations to us and the next event is for sure, going to be even bigger and more exceptional. But don’t take my word for it. Take a look at the photos.



piece africana art crystal

people africa speakers art exhibition

jewelry fashion accessory


* Would you like to read more about the art scene in Ghana? Click here for more information!

56 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page